| 工业和技术

人工智能

人工智能技术正在巴塞尔大区蓬勃发展

本土的一些全球龙头公司正在创造条件通过运用人工智能重塑其所在的行业。罗⽒制药(Roche) 和 诺华制药(Novartis)以及与其在生命科学行业开展合作的一批活跃的数据科学服务供应商和保险公司 Baloise都是其中的典范。巴塞尔大区的人工智能生态系统涵盖教育计划、世界领先的学术会议、业务合作和研究机构,各方携手提供使企业可采用人工智能并推动其未来发展所需的数据、工具和见解。

根据 Digitalization Atlas的媒体报道,巴塞尔城市州是瑞士三个最大的先进数字化技术集群之一,涉及人工智能、加密、大数据、云计算和虚拟现实。

国际人工智能知识的引领者

从全球角度来看巴塞尔大区与活跃的人工智能研究生态系统引领人工智能的发展,其中包括瑞士热带病与公共卫生研究所、巴塞尔大学、博特纳儿童健康研究中心和 苏黎世理工大学ETH D-BSSE 等学术机构。

巴塞尔每年都会举办多场关于人工智能的全球前沿会议。其中包括 智能健康峰会(Intelligent Health Summit)和 生物数据世界大会(Bio Data World Congress),全球相关领域的专家在这些会议上汇聚,与企业高级管理人员和人工智能爱好者进行交流。一年一度的 健康科技投资论坛(Healthtech Investment Forum) 汇集众多投资者和数字健康与创新医疗器械公司。

主要关注领域

健康科技

药物开发

保险

工业 4.0

教育

主要受益

基础设施

巴塞尔大学数学和计算机系汇集了世界顶尖的人工智能研究人员。主要关注的关键领域是自动化计划和智能问题解决。巴塞尔大学还设立了科学计算能力中心sciCORE,为高性能运算提供基础设施和服务以及科学数据的存储和处理。

瑞士西北应用科学和艺术大学 (FHNW) 正在大力研究多种独特的新型人工智能应用以及围绕处理数据和人工智能所产生的伦理问题。例如,他们建立了健康领域的人工智能实验室 aiHealthLab,它旨在健康领域使用人工智能来帮助设定标准、了解机制和指导决策。

其它将人工智能应用于特定研究领域的知名研究团体包括:

  • 瑞士理工大学ETH (D-BSSE) 的生物系统科学与工程系
  • 弗雷德里希·米歇尔生物医学研究所 (FMI)
  • 瑞士热带病与公共卫生研究所 (Swiss TPH)

独特的集中度

巴塞尔大区汇集了众多公司与机构,它们无论是在内部或通过与外部合作来扩展其运用人工智能的能力,为探索和协作创造出了一个繁荣而活跃的生态系统。

例如:

  • 跨行业合作:一个值得关注的例子是诺华制药(Novartis)与微软(Microsoft)之间多年以来的合作。他们专注于通过使用人工智能来改进药物的发现、开发和商业化的方式
  • 跨部门合作:以一个项目为例,政府、学术部门和产业部门一起合作使用最新的机器学习算法通过航拍图像来评估土地使用情况
  • 非盈利组织:总部设在巴塞尔的 Botnar基金会 支持使用人工智能和数字科技改善全球日益增长的城市环境下儿童和青年人的健康和生活情况

人才库

巴塞尔大区正在培养下一代人工智能人才。巴塞尔大学开设了计算机科学的多项学位课程和数据分析博士课程。

瑞士西北应用科学和艺术大学专门开设了从使用人工智能专注经济问题到药物开发和个性化医疗的专业课。在他们兼职学习的课程中其一个重点是利用数据科学工具提高产业专家的技能。

此外,巴塞尔大区已有 11,000 多人从事信息通信技术和数据科学方面的工作。

订阅我们的电子商报

您可能对以下各项也感兴趣

| Industries and technologies

Artificial intelligence

AI technology is flourishing in the Basel Area

Local world leading companies are paving the way in applying AI to revolutionize their industries. Examples are Roche and Novartis and a vibrant cluster of data science service providers working with them in the life sciences sector or the insurance company Baloise.

The AI ecosystem in the Basel Area encompasses educational programs, world-leading conferences, business collaborations and research institutes that together provide the data, tools and insights needed to allow businesses to adopt and grow the future of AI.

According to the Digitalization Atlas, Basel-Stadt is one of the three largest clusters for advanced digitalization technologies in Switzerland, covering artificial intelligence, encryption, big data, cloud computing and virtual reality.

An international beacon of AI knowledge

On an international level, the Basel Area leads the way with a vibrant AI research ecosystem that includes academic institutions such as the Swiss Tropical Institute, University of Basel, Botnar Center for Child Health, and ETH D-BSSE.

Multiple world leading conferences focusing on artificial intelligence are held in Basel every year. These include the Intelligent Health Summit and the Bio Data World Congress bringing together the global leaders of their respective fields to connect with C-suite executives and AI enthusiasts. The Annual Healthtech Investment Forum brings together investors and Digital Health & Medtech companies.

Main fields of focus

Health Technology

Drug Development

Insurance

Industry 4.0

Education 

Key benefits

Infrastructure

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at the University of Basel is home a world-leading AI researchers. Key areas of focus are automated planning and intelligent problem solving. The University of Basel also hosts sciCORE, a center of competence for scientific computing, providing infrastructures and services for high-performance computing, as well as storage and processing of scientific data.

The University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) is working on a number of unique new artificial intelligence applications, as well as on issues around ethical handling of data and AI. They have, for example, created the aiHealthLab, the Laboratory of Artificial Intelligence in Health, which mission is to apply artificial intelligence in order to set standards, understand mechanisms and guide decisions in healthcare.

Other notable research groups applying AI in their specific research fields include:

  • The Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering at ETH (D-BSSE)
  • Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research (FMI)
  • The Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (Swiss TPH)

Unique density

The Basel Area is home to many companies and institutions that are expanding their AI capabilities either in-house or by cooperating with external partners, creating a thriving and dynamic ecosystem for discovery and collaboration.

For example:

  • Cross industry collaborations: a notable example is a multiyear alliance between Novartis and Microsoft is focused on using AI to transform how medicines are discovered, developed and commercialized
  • Cross sector collaborations: take for example a project where government, academia, and industry are joining forces to evaluate land usage through aerial imaging using state-of-the-art machine-learning algorithms
  • Non-profit-organizations: the Basel-based Fondation Botnar champions the use of AI and digital technology to improve the health and well-being of children and young people in growing urban environments around the world

Talent pool

The next generation of AI talents are educated in the Basel Area. The University of Basel offers degree programs in computer science as well as a doctoral program in data analytics.

The University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland is offering specialized programs ranging from artificial intelligence focused on economic issues to drug development and personalized healthcare. Through their part-time degree programs one focus is on up-skilling industry experts with data science tools.

Furthermore, there are already more than 11,000 people working in the field of ICT and data science in the Basel Area.

Sign up to our Business Report newsletter

More business success

Discover why these top global companies chose to locate in the Basel Area.

Read more success stories

You might also be interested in

Find out what the Basel Area has to offer.